If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Distinguished Lectures

Howard and Iris Kaplan Memorial Lecture

The Kaplan Memorial Lecture Series honors the memory of Howard Kaplan, a prominent attorney whose legal career was characterized by devotion to the highest standards of the profession, and his wife, Iris Kaplan, an enthusiastic supporter of the lecture series. The series is supported by an endowment established by the Max and Victoria Dreyfus Foundation, Inc. and was initiated by Tony Kaplan ’82 to honor his parents.

Previous Lecturers

Howard Lichtenstein Distinguished Professorship in Legal Ethics Lecture Series

The Howard Lichtenstein Distinguished Professorship was established in 1989 to remember Howard Lichtenstein, an outstanding lawyer with a genuine interest in legal education and the training and development of young lawyers. During his 44 years of practice, his primary concentration was in the field of labor law. As a senior partner at the law firm Proskauer Rose Goetz & Mendelsohn (now known as Proskauer Rose LLP), he was considered an authority on administrative law. In addition, Mr. Lichtenstein was a strong advocate for improving the teaching of legal ethics.

Previous Lecturers

Philip J. Shapiro Endowed International Visiting Scholar Lecture

The Philip J. Shapiro Endowed International Visiting Scholars Program was established in 2012 with a gift from Philip J. Shapiro ’78, president and CEO of Liberty Maritime Corporation and a member of the Dean’s Advisory Board. The program brings legal scholars, government officials and prominent members of the international legal and business communities to the Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University annually. The visitors interact with faculty and students to discuss timely issues in the fields of international and comparative law. A public lecture for the Hofstra Law community is part of each visitor’s stay.

Previous Lecturers

Sidney and Walter Siben Distinguished Professorship Lecture in Family Law

The Sidney and Walter Siben Distinguished Professorship was established in 1984 through a generous gift from the law firm of Siben & Siben. Originally designed to recognize accomplishments in tort law, the professorship was expanded in 1986 to allow for recognition in family law and awarded to John DeWitt Gregory, who held the professorship in that field until 2012. The professorship is currently held by Joanna L. Grossman.

Previous Lecturers