Moot Court Board

Office: Roosevelt Hall 011
President & Editor-in-Chief: Tom McGowan
Vice President: Aileen Iorio
Managing Editor: James Farris
Director of Competitions: Anthony DeIngeniis
Director of Business Affairs: Cassandra Branch
Director of Staff Affairs: Marni Weiner
Director of Alumni Affairs: Michael Callan
Director of Technology & Social Media: Anna Drepaul
Associate Editors:
Julia Elmaleh-Sachs,
Rajendra Persaud,
Sasha Chegini

The Moot Court Board is a student-run organization that is dedicated to the development of students’ written and oral appellate advocacy skills.

The board administers two intramural competitions each year, through which members of the board are selected. The fall semester competition is open to upper-class students and transfer students; the spring semester competition is open to first-year students.

Board members help prepare competitors for oral argument and conduct practice rounds leading up to the competition; board members also serve as judges for the preliminary rounds of the competitions. The final round of each competition is adjudicated by a panel of distinguished judges and appellate practitioners.

The board also plays an important part in Hofstra Law’s interscholastic moot court competition program. The board helps organize tryouts each fall for the selection of students to represent Hofstra Law in regional, national and international moot court competitions against other law schools.

Board members also assist in the faculty-taught Advanced Appellate Skills seminar, which is designed exclusively for students who are selected from those tryouts — largely from board membership — to represent Hofstra Law in interscholastic competitions.