If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Moot Court Competitions

Moot Court Competitions

Interscholastic Competitions

The Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University sends highly competitive teams to several moot court competitions across the country each school year. Teams are selected through a vetting process in the fall semester where any interested second or third year students are eligible to try-out. The following is a list of competition teams fielded in the 2009-2010 school year. We are always looking to expand to new areas of the law.

Regional and National Competition Teams:

  • Nassau Academy of Law Moot Court Competition
  • Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition
  • Rendigs Products Liability Moot Court Competition
  • National Moot Court Northeast Regional Competition
  • Prince Evidence Moot Court Competition
  • ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competitions- REGIONAL FINALISTS
  • Herbert Wechsler National Criminal Law Moot Court Competition
  • Irving R. Kaufman Memorial Moot Court Competition
  • Robert F. Wagner Labor and Employment Law Competition
  • National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition
  • Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition

International Competition Teams:

  • International Moot Arbitration Competition
  • International Criminal Court Moot Court Competition

Intramural Competitions

The Moot Court Board organizes two intramural competitions, through which membership selections are made. In the fall semester, students who transferred to Hofstra Law’s full time program from other law schools or from the part time division may compete. In the spring semester, a competition is held for all first-year students who are interested in becoming a member of the Moot Court Board. Moot Court Board members facilitate practice rounds leading up to the competition and serve as judges for the preliminary rounds. The final round is judged by actual appellate judges and prominent attorneys in appellate practice. Membership selection is based on performance in the competition, Appellate Advocacy course grades, and the quality of the appellate brief each student is required to submit.

On March 15, 2010, the Moot Court Board held its spring competition final round where first-year student competitors Jesse Goldberg and Wende Cooper argued the issue of whether the need for a police officer to obtain clothing for an arrestee constitutes exigent circumstances. On the bench were Justice Joseph Covello and Justice Leonard B. Austin, both of the New York State Supreme Court, Appellate Division, Second Department, Frank Gulino, the Director of Student Advocacy Programs at Hofstra Law, and Brian J. Isaac, a prominent appellate attorney in the New York metropolitan area. The entire competition was a great success. Congratulations to all those who participated.