35th Anniversary Celebration of the Clinic Programs

Clinic Stories: Then & Now

Hofstra's clinical program began 35 years ago in a second-floor walk-up above a fish store in the center of Hempstead. Hofstra was a pioneer in fully integrating clinical education into a law school, and by the late 1970s had one of the largest clinical programs in the nation. The programs were further enhanced in 1997 when Joan Axinn Hall was built as the new home of the Law School’s clinical programs, thanks to the generosity of Joan Axinn ’76 and her husband Donald. The 35th Anniversary Celebration of the Clinic Programs recognizes the outstanding contributions of Hofstra Law School's Community Legal Assistance Corporation and its supporters over the years. The funds raised through this event directly benefit the operating budget of our clinical programs as well as the David K. Kadane Fellowship in Public Interest Law. The Kadane Fellowship allows one Hofstra student the opportunity to work on cases at the clinic during the summer between their second and third year in law school.


John DeWitt Gregory
John DeWitt Gregory
Sidney and Walter Siben Distinguished Professor of Family Law
Founding Co-Director of Hofstra Law School's Clinic Programs

Click here to view the Commemorative Journal (PDF) of Stories & Advertisements from the 35th Anniversary Dinner for the Hofstra Law Clinic, held on May 15, 2008 at the Jericho Terrace.

Clinic Anniversary Committee:

Thank you to the Anniversary Celebration Committee members for their efforts:

Joan Baim '05
Cheryl Bartow '96
Kerry Bassett '00
Stephanie Buffa '07
Anthony J. Colleluori '84
Bruna DiBiase '84
Hon. Barbara Lynaugh '84
Charles McEvily '73
Mary Beth Ott '96
Martin Restituyo '02
Hon. Stella Schindler '76
Maria Schwartz '92
Harvey Spizz

Hofstra Law School’s Clinics want to hear from you.
Please share your latest career developments, family news & achievements by emailing us at lawclinic@hofstra.edu.