If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.


Class Notes: January 1-December 31, 2010



Richard Schoenstein moved to Satterlee Stephens Burke & Burke as partner in the firm’s litigation and dispute resolution practice.


Alan T. Schmidlin joined Robert J. Kurre & Associates as an associate.


Michael R. Brew, partner at Carter, DeLuca, Farrell & Schmidt, was named by Long Island Business News to its “Who’s Who in Intellectual Property & Labor Law.”

Jonathan Farrell, partner at Meltzer, Lippe, Goldstein & Breitstone, was named by Long Island Business News to its “Who’s Who in Intellectual Property & Labor Law.”


Marshall R. Isaacs, corporate litigation and personal injury attorney, was appointed to write Smallfirmville, the New York State Bar Association’s official blog for solo and small firm attorneys.

James P. Joseph, managing partner of the Garden City firm Joseph & Teeter, was named Pro Bono Attorney of the Month for June 2010 by the Nassau County Bar Association.


Greg Hlibok was named the head of the Federal Communications Commission’s Disability Rights Office. Hlibok, who is deaf, is the first person with a disability to head the office.

Lisa Madden O’Neil welcomed daughter, Kengi, on June 24, 2010. 


Ira Halperin was named by Long Island Business News to its “Who’s Who in Corporate Law.” He also joined the board of advisors of the Long Island Community Foundation in Syosset.

Neil V. Hernandez was named distinguished lecturer at Hostos Community College for the 2010-2011 academic year in the Department of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Michael P. Panebianco has been appointed vice president and trust officer of the Cambridge Trust Company of New Hampshire.

Sherry Levin Wallach, partner and principal at Wallach & Rendo in Mount Kisco, was elected member-at-large of the Executive Committee of the New York State Bar Association.


Thomas Dargan was named by Long Island Business News to its “Who’s Who in Corporate Law.”

Thomas McKevitt was elected New York state assemblyman for the 17th District in the general election on November 2, 2010.

Christopher Porzio was promoted to general counsel at Phoenix Partners Group, an interdealer broker, in New York.

Robert J. Scott, managing partner of Scott & Scott, was invited to join the Council on Litigation Management (CLM). CLM sponsors educational programs, provides resources, fosters communications and recognizes lawyers who meet high standards. Selected attorneys and law firms are extended membership by invitation only based on nominations from CLM Fellows.

Rahsaan W. Thompson, of counsel at Quarles & Brady, was this year’s alumni speaker at New Student Orientation for the Hofstra Law Class of 2013.

Christopher L. Van De Water joined McCormick & O’Brien as senior counsel.


Seth M. Kaplan was elected partner at Fox Rothschild.

David P. Leno, partner at Ruskin Moscou Faltischek, was named a member of the New York State Board of Real Estate. The board, which consists of 15 members, has general authority to promulgate rules and regulations affecting real estate brokers and other individuals to administer and effectuate the purposes of Article 12-A of the Real Property Law.


Philip A. Kusnetz has formed his own law firm with a concentration in the areas of matrimonial, family law and personal injury.

Karen H. Tucci, associate at the New York-based firm Lewis Johs Avallone Aviles, formed the special education practice group, in which she is part of a team representing children with special needs and their families throughout due process proceedings to secure effective educational services for the children.


Christopher Gegwich joined Forchelli, Curto, Deegan, Schwartz, Mineo, Cohn & Terrana as a partner in the firm’s employment and labor practice group.

Arthur Laitman and his wife, Lauren Dana Greenbaum ’01, welcomed a baby boy, Leo Maxwell, on November 11, 2010.

Back to Top