For Immediate Release:  May 29, 2012
2012, 05, 29

Hofstra Law Celebrates Student Achievements at 2012 Graduation Awards Ceremony

Hofstra Law Celebrates Student Achievements at 2012 Graduation Awards Ceremony

Media Contact

Kristen McMahon
Director of Public Relations
Hofstra Law
Phone: 516.463.4252

HEMPSTEAD, N.Y. — The Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University held its annual Graduates’ Celebration and Awards Ceremony on Sunday, May 20, 2012. Administrators, faculty members, friends and families joined Hofstra Law graduates at the John Cranford Adams Playhouse at Hofstra University to honor their outstanding achievements as law school students.

Teacher of the Year James Sample, associate professor of law, delivered remarks encouraging graduates to “go forth and rock the dialogue, rejuvenate the discourse and turn up the caliber of public debate,” both on the national level and within their communities. Sample was chosen as Teacher of the Year by the graduation class.

Later that evening, Jonathan Lippman, chief judge of the State of New York and chief judge of the Court of Appeals, delivered the commencement address to more than 300 J.D. and LL.M. degree recipients at the David S. Mack Sports and Exhibition Complex at Hofstra University. His remarks focused on the importance of access to justice for people in low-income communities.

The following select 2012 graduation awards were presented at the Graduates’ Celebration and Awards ceremony:

The Benjamin Weintraub and Alan Resnick Bankruptcy Law Award Max Schlan and Michael Tenenhaus

D. Carl Lusting III Award for Outstanding Performance in Tort Law — James Bouklas

Distinguished Service to the School Award Trinh Tran

Hofstra Law Review
Alumni Writing Award Elizabeth Elias

The Judge Edward Hart Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Trial Advocacy — Laura Kitchen and Michael Rubin

Herman Hillman Memorial Scholarship — Michael Rapps and David Schwed

Leon Stern Award of the Criminal Courts Bar of Nassau County Nicole Bayer

Maurice A. Deane Award — Charles Mileski

Outstanding Law Student Award — Joshua Ebersole

Pro Bono Service Award of Excellence Stefan Campagna and Robert Castillo, Orly Bertel and Hillary Casper, and Brionna Denby and Erin McGrath

The Stephanie E. Kupferman Juvenile Justice Endowed Scholarship — Allison Small  

Third-Year Scholastic Achievement Award — Jesse Goldberg

For a full list of awardees, visit

# # #

The Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University is located 40 minutes from New York City in suburban Long Island. Hofstra Law is home to nearly 850 students, an alumni base of more than 10,600 members and a distinguished faculty of more than 50 professors, including many scholars recognized as national and international experts in their field. The law school is part of Hofstra University and is fully accredited by the Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar of the American Bar Association.

Hofstra Law

121 Hofstra University

Hempstead, NY 11549-1210

Map | Directions

Phone Information

tel: 516-463-5858

fax: 516-463-1017


Email Information