For Immediate Release:  Jan 5, 2009
2009, 01, 05

Hofstra Law's experts on inauguration, presidential power available for interviews

Hofstra Law's experts on inauguration, presidential power available for interviews

Media Contact
Sun Min
Director of Communications
Hofstra Law
Phone: 516.463.5013
E-mail: sun.min@hofstra.edu

HEMPSTEAD, N.Y. — As the historic inauguration nears, Hofstra Law School’s experts on inauguration, presidential power, foreign policy, Guantanamo Bay, government, the economy, subprime mortgage crisis, the environment, voting rights, election laws, immigration and education reform, among other topics, will be available for interviews before, during and after the January 20 inauguration.

Nora V. Demleitner, Hofstra Law School Dean and Professor of Law, is an expert on foreign policy, criminal sentencing, death penalty and immigration.
516.463.5854 nora.v.demleitner@hofstra.edu.

Eric M. Freedman, Maurice A. Deane Distinguished Professor of Constitutional Law, is an expert on presidential power, constitutional law, death penalty, First Amendment and Guantanamo Bay.
516.463.5167 eric.m.freedman@hofstra.edu.

Julian Ku, Professor of Law, is an expert on inauguration, presidential power, presidential pardons, “War on Terror,” international human rights and international law.
516.463.4237 julian.g.ku@hofstra.edu.

Barbara S. Barron, Professor of Legal Research and Writing, can speak on the role of courts in moral issues.  
516.463.5246 barbara.s.barron@hofstra.edu.

Robin Charlow, Professor of Law, can speak on religion and the law, constitutional law and criminal law.
516.463.5166 robin.charlow@hofstra.edu.

Ronald J. Colombo, Associate Professor of Law, can speak on the subprime mortgage crisis and economic regulation in the 21st century.
516.463.5931 ronald.colombo@hofstra.edu.

Janet L. Dolgin, Jack and Freda Dicker Distinguished Professor of Health Care Law, is an expert on stem cell research, reproductive issues, medical ethics and health care law.
516.463.5873 janet.l.dolgin@hofstra.edu.

Monroe H. Freedman, Professor of Law, is an expert on legal ethics.
516.463.5882 monroe.h.freedman@hofstra.edu

Leon Friedman, Joseph Kushner Distinguished Professor of Civil Liberties Law, is an expert on civil rights, the “War on Terror,” judges and the U.S. Supreme Court.
516.463.5889 leon.friedman@hofstra.edu

Daniel J.H. Greenwood, Professor of Law, is an expert on the economy including the following topics:  corporate finance, foreclosures, bankruptcy, mortgages and securities laws.
516.463.7013 daniel.greenwood@hofstra.edu

Katrina Fischer Kuh, Associate Professor of Law, can speak on the environment, energy, federal response to climate change.
516.463.6123 katrina.kuh@hofstra.edu.
 
Eric Lane, Eric J. Schmertz Distinguished Professor of Public Law and Public Service, is an expert on voting rights as well as election laws and practices.
516.463.5886 eric.lane@hofstra.edu.

Theo Liebmann, Clinical Professor and Attorney-In-Charge at the Hofstra Child Advocacy Clinic, can speak on youth without legal immigration statues and the foster care system.
516.463.4736 theodor.s.liebmann@hofstra.edu.

Alan Resnick, Benjamin Weintraub Distinguished Professor of Bankruptcy Law, is a bankruptcy expert.
516.463.5872 alan.n.resnick@hofstra.edu.

Andrew Schepard, Professor of Law and Director of the Center for Children, Families and the Law, is an expert on education reform and family law issues.
516.463.5890 andrew.i.schepard@hofstra.edu.

To schedule interviews, contact Sun Min at 516.463.5013 or sun.min@hofstra.edu.

# # #

The Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University is located 40 minutes from New York City in suburban Long Island. Hofstra Law is home to nearly 850 students, an alumni base of more than 10,600 members and a distinguished faculty of more than 50 professors, including many scholars recognized as national and international experts in their field. The law school is part of Hofstra University and is fully accredited by the Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar of the American Bar Association.

Hofstra Law

121 Hofstra University

Hempstead, NY 11549-1210

Map | Directions

Phone Information

tel: 516-463-5858

fax: 516-463-1017

Directory

Email Information

hofstralaw@hofstra.edu

Directory