For Immediate Release:  Jun 2, 2008
2008, 06, 02

Nine Hofstra Law Students Selected for 2008 LSPIN Fellowships

Nine Hofstra Law Students Selected for 2008 LSPIN Fellowships

Media Contact
Jeffrey A. Dodge
Assistant Dean for Administration and Operations
Hofstra Law
Phone: 516.463.4142

HEMPSTEAD, N.Y. — Hofstra Law School is proud to announce that nine students were awarded 2008 LSPIN Fellowships. Annually, approximately 300 applications are received from students at 18 law schools for only 75 fellowship awards. A principal criterion for selection is demonstrated commitment to a public sector career. For the second year, Hofstra Law School had one of the largest numbers of students chosen for the Fellowship. The Fellows will work this summer at local public interest organizations and government agencies. The selected Hofstra Law students are:

Alison Cain (2010) - Mental Hygiene Legal Service - Mineola, NY

Allison Dersch (2010) - Fair Housing Justice Center - New York, NY

Christina Gaudio (2010) - Lawyers for Children, Inc. - New York, NY

Towanna Headley (2010) - New York City Department of Consumer Affairs - New York, NY

Jessica Horowitz (2009) - New York City Legal Aid Society - Juvenile Rights Division - Brooklyn, NY

Natalie Khalatov-Krimnus - (2009) - New York City Legal Aid Society - Kathryn A. McDonald Education Advocacy Project of the Juvenile Rights Division - New York, NY

John Leschak (2010) - New Jersey Immigration Policy Network - Newark, NJ

Jennifer Riley (2010) - Equal Justice Alliance - Forest Hills, NY

Ana Rosario (2010) - New York City Legal Aid Society - Criminal Defense Division - New York, NY

The Charles H. Revson Foundation offers the Law Students Public Interest (LSPIN) Fellowship Program each summer. The LSPIN Fellowship Program provides summer grants for first- and second-year law students attending law school in New York and New Jersey to work with public interest organizations in the New York metropolitan area (New York City, Long Island, Rockland and Westchester counties in New York as well as certain counties in New Jersey). The 2008 Fellows will each receive a $4,500 stipend. LSPIN applications are due in mid-November and the recipients are notified during the spring semester.

“I am delighted that so many of our committed and deserving students were selected to participate in the LSPIN Fellowship Program,” said Dean Nora V. Demleitner. “This program allows our students to pursue enriching summer internships, truly helping people in need while receiving generous financial support from The Charles H. Revson Foundation.”

# # #

The Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University is located 40 minutes from New York City in suburban Long Island. Hofstra Law is home to nearly 850 students, an alumni base of more than 10,600 members and a distinguished faculty of more than 50 professors, including many scholars recognized as national and international experts in their field. The law school is part of Hofstra University and is fully accredited by the Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar of the American Bar Association.

Hofstra Law

121 Hofstra University

Hempstead, NY 11549-1210

Map | Directions

Phone Information

tel: 516-463-5858

fax: 516-463-1017


Email Information