For Immediate Release:  Jan 23, 2008
2008, 01, 23

Hofstra Law School Announces 2008 Alumni Awards

Hofstra Law School Announces 2008 Alumni Awards

Media Contact
Allen Morrison
Director of Communications
Hofstra Law
Phone: 516.463.4142

HEMPSTEAD, N.Y. — Hofstra Law School and its Alumni Association Board of Directors are proud to announce the recipients of the 2008 Distinguished Alumni Awards, to be presented at the annual Alumni Awards Dinner & Reunion Celebration on Thursday, March 27, 2008 at the W New York Hotel. This year’s honorees are:
  • Laurence (Larry) Ginsberg '79, winner of the Exceptional Law School Service Award: Mr. Ginsberg is the President of Algin Management Company, a major real estate development and management company founded by his father, which manages approximately 3,800 apartments in the New York City area. Beginning in 1985, Mr. Ginsberg and his family added to the company’s portfolio by constructing multiple high rise buildings in New York City. Among their properties is New York City’s famed Roseland Ballroom, where many music legends have appeared. Mr. Ginsberg is a major donor to the Law School, having established the Albert and Pearl Ginsberg Endowed Scholarship at Hofstra Law School in 2002 in memory of his parents.
  • Michael L. Baroni '93, winner of the Professional Excellence Award: Mr. Baroni is General Counsel of BSH Home Appliances Corporation, of Huntington Beach, California, the North American subsidiary of the world’s third-largest home appliances manufacturer. Mr. Baroni is in charge of all legal affairs for BSH, including in the areas of contracts, marketing, distribution, human resources, litigation, real estate, and product liability. He previously served as in-house counsel for, which provides Internet exchange services for leading telecommunications carriers, Internet service providers, application service providers, and many other types of Internet-based businesses.
  • Michael Vecchione '73, winner of the Outstanding Public Service Award: Mr. Vecchione spent 10 years in the private practice of criminal law and more than 20 years in the Kings County District Attorney's Office. He has tried over 100 cases and supervises more than 100 assistant district attorneys. As Chief of the Rackets Bureau, he oversees the following Bureaus: Organized Crime, Arson and Major Frauds, Gangs, Civil Rights and Police Integrity, Major Narcotics Investigations, Money Laundering and Revenue Crimes, and Official Corruption. He also teaches at Hofstra Law School, Brooklyn Law School and St. John’s University College of Professional Studies.
  • Barbara A. Lukeman '00, winner of the Emerging Leader Award: Ms. Lukeman is an Associate at Nixon Peabody LLP, specializing in Product Liability, Mass & Complex Torts. She has defended and counseled clients in a wide variety of tort actions in federal and state courts, nationwide and in the New York area. She has taught at Hofstra Law School since 2003 and has coached several Hofstra Moot Court teams to first place finishes in the 2004, 2005, and 2006 Nassau Academy of Law competitions. To acknowledge her contribution to Hofstra’s moot court program, the student-run Moot Court Association has instituted an award in her name, to be presented each year to an outstanding law student who advances the goals of the Moot Court Association, and the moot court program at Hofstra Law.

In addition to recognizing the achievements of the Law School’s alumni, the event will also honorBernard E. Jacob with the Stuart Rabinowitz Outstanding Faculty Award. Professor Jacob is the Alexander M. Bickel Distinguished Professor of Communications Law at Hofstra Law School. Beginning as a law clerk to Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglas, Professor Jacob has had a distinguished career as lawyer, government official, and teacher. Prior to entering law school, Professor Jacob was an associate for several years in the Institute for Philosophic Research under Mortimer J. Adler. He has since returned to philosophy, completing a Ph.D. at the Graduate Faculty of the New School for Social Research. His prize-winning dissertation, “Finding a Place for Rhetoric,” initiated a continuing interest in rhetoric, communication theory and the media. He has published in this field in both legal and communications journals, as well as on more traditional legal subjects.

Hofstra Law School Dean Nora V. Demleitner said, “The Distinguished Alumni Awards Dinner honorees have each made significant contributions to their fields and to Hofstra Law School’s national reputation. I am proud to honor this group of alumni, who represent the highest standards of the legal profession.”

In addition to recognizing the diverse achievements of Hofstra Law School's alumni community, the Distinguished Alumni Awards Dinner & Reunion Celebration serves as a reunion celebration for the classes of '73, '78, '83, '88, '93, '98 & '03. The funds raised directly benefit the Law School Scholarship Fund, which provides necessary financial assistance to deserving students.

For more information on this annual event please contact the Office of Alumni Relations at (516) 463-4673 or visit

# # #

The Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University is located 40 minutes from New York City in suburban Long Island. Hofstra Law is home to nearly 850 students, an alumni base of more than 10,600 members and a distinguished faculty of more than 50 professors, including many scholars recognized as national and international experts in their field. The law school is part of Hofstra University and is fully accredited by the Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar of the American Bar Association.

Hofstra Law

121 Hofstra University

Hempstead, NY 11549-1210

Map | Directions

Phone Information

tel: 516-463-5858

fax: 516-463-1017


Email Information