If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

Fall 2016

First-Year Orientation Begins
First Day of Classes (nonrepeating classes only, ending on or before Friday, August 19)
Monday, August 15
First Day of Classes Monday, August 22
Holiday (Labor Day) — No Classes Monday, September 5
Presidential Debate at Hofstra — No Classes Monday, September 26
Holiday (Rosh Hashanah) — No Classes Monday, October 3
Holiday (Rosh Hashanah) — No Classes Tuesday, October 4
Holiday (Yom Kippur) — No Evening Classes* Tuesday, October 11
Holiday (Yom Kippur) — No Classes Wednesday, October 12
Tuesday Evening Classes to Meet; See note below** Friday, October 14
Holiday (Thanksgiving) — No Classes Thursday, November 24 and
Friday, November 25
Last Day of Classes Monday, December 5
Reading Day Tuesday, December 6
Final Examinations Wednesday, December 7-
Tuesday, December 20
Commencement Wednesday, December 21

*An evening class in the School of Law is defined as a class that has a start time of 6:10 p.m. or later.

**Tuesday evening classes will meet as follows on this day:

  • Classes scheduled to meet on Tuesday evening from 6:10-8 p.m. will meet on Friday, October 14, from 2:10-4 p.m.
  • Classes scheduled to meet on Tuesday evening from 8:10-10 p.m. will meet on Friday, October 14, from 4:10-6 p.m.

Spring 2017

First Day of Classes Wednesday, January 11
Additional Class for Legal Writing 2 Friday, January 13
Holiday (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day) — No Classes Monday, January 16
Monday Class Schedule Thursday, January 26
Holiday (Presidents Day) — No Classes Monday, February 20
Spring Break — No Classes Monday, April 10-
Friday, April 14
Monday Class Schedule Wednesday, April 26
Last Day of Classes Thursday, April 27
Snow/Make Up Day Friday, April 28
Reading Day Monday, May 1
Final Examinations Tuesday, May 2-
Monday, May 15
Commencement Monday, May 22