Hofstra Law Alumni Association

The more than 10,600 alumni of the Maurice A. Deane School of Law make up its Alumni Association. Membership in the association is free to all alumni. The Alumni Association provides alumni with opportunities to engage with their fellow alumni, students, faculty and administrators for their personal and professional development, as well as to enhance Hofstra Law programming.

The Alumni Association is led by an executive board and is organized into three committees — Career Services, Development and Diversity — each of which works closely with a member of the Hofstra Law administration. The executive board, roles of the committees, and committee co-chairs are as follows:

Executive Board

Richard Schoenstein ’90, President
Partner, Satterlee, Stephens, Burke &
Burke, LLP
230 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10169
212-818-9200
rschoenstein@ssbb.com
Mark J. Caruso ’77, Vice President
Partner, Caruso, Caruso & Branda, PC
7302 13th Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11228
718-680-5778
MCaruso@carusobranda.com
Ralph H. Cathcart ’90, Vice President
Partner, Ladas & Parry, LLP
1040 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10018
212-708-1920
rcathcart@ladas.com
Barbara A. Lukeman ’00, Vice President
Partner, Nixon Peabody, LLP
437 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10022
212-940-3104
blukeman@nixonpeabody.com
Terrence L. Tarver ’07, Secretary
Associate, Sullivan Papain Block McGrath & Cannavo P.C.
55 Mineola Boulevard
Mineola, NY 11501
516-742-0707
ttarver@triallaw1.com

Career Services Committee

The Career Services Committee assists Hofstra Law by, among other things, engaging in outreach to fellow alumni for the purpose of identifying potential internship and postgraduate employment opportunities for Hofstra Law students and graduates, promoting alumni participation in Hofstra Law’s on-campus recruitment programs (OCI), identifying alumni who are willing to serve as professional mentors for current students, and participating in career- and professional-development-related programming run by Hofstra Law.

Peter Morgan ’97, Co-Chair
Partner, 
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
1540 Broadway
New York, NY 10036-4039
212-858-1019
peter.morgan@pillsburylaw.com
Andrew L. Oringer ’84, Co-Chair
Partner and Co-Chair, ERISA & Executive Compensation Group
Dechert LLP
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10036
212-698-3571
andrew.oringer@dechert.com
Michael Schnipper ’04, Co-Chair
Partner, Nixon Peabody LLP
50 Jericho Quadrangle, Suite 300
Jericho, NY 11753
516-832-7518
mschnipper@nixonpeabody.com

Development Committee

The Development Committee assists Hofstra Law’s Office of External Relations with alumni programs and fundraising initiatives. The committee consists of alumni class agents, who serve as ambassadors of Hofstra Law, contacting classmates to build a stronger alumni community and encourage gifts to the Annual Fund.

Merrie S. Frankel ’80, Co-Chair
Vice President, Moody’s Investors Service
7 World Trade Center at
250 Greenwich Street
New York, NY 10007
212-553-3652
merrie.frankel@moodys.com
Richard Fuhrman ’77, Co-Chair
Insurance Broker,
Forest Hills Financial Group
200 Broadhollow Road, Suite 405
Melville, NY 11747
rafuhrman@gmail.com
Seth A. Presser ’07, Co-Chair
Associate, Jaspan Schlesinger, LLP
300 Garden City Plaza, 5th Floor
Garden City, NY 11530
516-393-8236
spresser@jaspanllp.com

Diversity Committee

The Diversity Committee was formed to further Hofstra Law’s efforts to maintain a diverse student body, faculty and administration. The committee supports Hofstra Law’s efforts to identify and recruit students from diverse ethnic, cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds; provide support to minority students and organizations through participation in their programs and events, as well as serve as mentors and advisors; assist in engaging alumni from diverse backgrounds and help to develop ways of encouraging their participation in alumni activities; and help to build financial support for Hofstra Law’s diversity scholarships and overall fundraising efforts.

Sarika Kapoor '04, Co-Chair
Associate Court Attorney,
Supreme Court of the State of New York,
Nassau County Law Department
100 Supreme Court Drive
Mineola, New York 1150
sarikapoor@yahoo.com

For more information on becoming involved in the Alumni Association and its committees, please contact the Office of Alumni Relations at lawalum@hofstra.edu or 516-463-2586.