If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Hofstra Law Alumni Association

Hofstra Law Alumni Association

The more than 11,000 alumni of the Maurice A. Deane School of Law make up its Alumni Association. Membership in the association is free to all alumni. The Alumni Association provides alumni with opportunities to engage with their fellow alumni, students, faculty and administrators for their personal and professional development, as well as to enhance Hofstra Law programming.

The Alumni Association is led by an executive board and is organized into three committees — Career Services, Development and Diversity — each of which works closely with a member of the Hofstra Law administration. The executive board, roles of the committees, and committee co-chairs are as follows:

 

Executive Board

Michael Schnipper ’04, President
Partner, Nixon Peabody LLP
50 Jericho Quadrangle, Suite 300
Jericho, NY 11753
516-832-7518
mschnipper@nixonpeabody.com
Mark J. Caruso ’77, Vice President
Partner, Abrams, Fensterman, Fensterman, Eisman, Formato, Ferrara, Wolf & Carone, LLP
1 MetroTech Center, Suite 1701
Brooklyn, NY 11201
718-215-5300
mcaruso@abramslaw.com
JoAnna R. Nicholson ’08, Secretary
Associate General Counsel, North American Partners in Anesthesia
68 South Service Road, Suite 350
Melville, New York 11747
516-945-3386
jnicholson@napaanesthesia.com
Andrew L. Oringer ’84, Vice President
Partner and Co-Chair, ERISA & Executive Compensation Group
Dechert LLP
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10036
212-698-3571
andrew.oringer@dechert.com
Terrence L. Tarver ’07, Vice President
Owner, Tarver Law Firm, P.C.
1140 Franklin Avenue, Suite 200
Garden City, NY 11530
516-506-7187
tarver@tarverlawfirm.com
 

Judicial Liaison

Hon. Denise L. Sher ’78, Judicial Liaison
Justice, Nassau County Supreme Court
100 Supreme Court Drive Mineola, NY 11501
516-493-3239
dsher@nycourts.gov

 

Career Services Committee

The Career Services Committee assists Hofstra Law by, among other things, engaging in outreach to fellow alumni for the purpose of identifying potential internship and postgraduate employment opportunities for Hofstra Law students and graduates, promoting alumni participation in Hofstra Law’s on-campus recruitment programs (OCI), identifying alumni who are willing to serve as professional mentors for current students, and participating in career- and professional-development-related programming run by Hofstra Law.

Simone Hicks ’12 
Associate, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP
919 Third Avenue
New York, NY 10022
212-909-6224
sshicks@debevoise.com

Lauren Norton-Lerner ’96 
Referee, Queens County Family Court, Part 45
151-20 Jamaica Ave.
Jamaica, NY 11432
718-298-0684
llerner@nycourts.gov

Daniel P. Vaillant ’08
Senior Corporate Counsel, Law Department
TDK U.S.A. Corporation
455 RXR Plaza
Uniondale, NY 11556
516- 535-2616
daniel.vaillant@us.tdk.com

Administrators:

Christopher Caruso ’00
Associate Dean for Career Services
516-463-5861
Christopher.J.Caruso@hofstra.edu

Daphne Telfeyan
Assistant Dean for Employer Outreach
516-463-5871
daphne.telfeyan@hofstra.edu

 

Development Committee

The Development Committee assists Hofstra Law’s Office of External Relations with alumni programs and fundraising initiatives. The committee consists of alumni class agents, who serve as ambassadors of Hofstra Law, contacting classmates to build a stronger alumni community and encourage gifts to The Fund for Hofstra Law.

Seth A. Presser ’07
General Counsel, Bulova
350 5th Avenue, 29th Floor
New York, NY, 10118
212-497-9795
spresser@bulova.com

Michael Romano ’11
Partner, Wisell, McGee & Romano, LLP
80-02 Kew Gardens Road, Suite 307
Kew Gardens, New York 11415
718-544-0041
Michael.Romano@wiselllaw.com

Administrators:

Lisa Berman
Associate Dean for External Relations
516-463-4758
Lisa.H.Berman@hofstra.edu

Donna Brower
Director of Development
516-463-4391  
Donna.Brower@hofstra.edu

 

Diversity Committee

The Diversity Committee was formed to further Hofstra Law’s efforts to maintain a diverse student body, faculty and administration. The committee supports Hofstra Law’s efforts to identify and recruit students from diverse ethnic, cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds; provide support to minority students and organizations through participation in their programs and events, as well as serve as mentors and advisors; assist in engaging alumni from diverse backgrounds and help to develop ways of encouraging their participation in alumni activities; and help to build financial support for Hofstra Law’s diversity scholarships and overall fundraising efforts.

Brittany Johnson ’14
Director of Labor Relations, CBS Corporation
51 West 52nd Street
New York, NY  10019
212-975-4321
b.l.johnson519@gmail.com

Judith Massis-Sanchez ’13
Counsel
Office of the General Counsel
Queens College/CUNY
718-997-5725
jmassissanchez@qc.cuny.edu

Anand Sinha ’13
Principal, Law Offices of Anand Sinha
26 South 12th Street
New Hyde Park, NY  11040
516-849-1672
anandgsinha.esq@gmail.com

Administrator:

Lisa Monticciolo
Dean of Students and Diversity and Inclusion Officer
516-463-4809
Lisa.Monticciolo@hofstra.edu

For more information on becoming involved in the Alumni Association and its committees, please contact the Office of Alumni Relations at lawalum@hofstra.edu or 516-463-2586.