Hofstra Law Alumni Association

Hofstra Law Alumni Association

The more than 11,000 alumni of the Maurice A. Deane School of Law make up its Alumni Association. Membership in the association is free to all alumni. The Alumni Association provides alumni with opportunities to engage with their fellow alumni, students, faculty and administrators for their personal and professional development, as well as to enhance Hofstra Law programming.

The Alumni Association is led by an executive board and is organized into three committees — Career Services, Development and Diversity — each of which works closely with a member of the Hofstra Law administration. The executive board, roles of the committees, and committee co-chairs are as follows:

Executive Board

Richard Schoenstein ’90, President
Partner, Tarter Krinsky & Drogin LLP
1350 Broadway
New York, NY 10018
Mark J. Caruso ’77, Vice President
Partner, Abrams, Fensterman, Fensterman, Eisman, Formato, Ferrara & Wolf, LLP
7302 13th Avenue
Brooklyn, New York 11228
Ralph H. Cathcart ’90, Vice President
Partner, Ladas & Parry, LLP
1040 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10018
Terrence L. Tarver ’07Vice President
Owner, Tarver Law Firm, P.C.
1140 Franklin Avenue, Suite 200
Garden City, NY 11530
Michael Schnipper ’04, Secretary
Partner, Nixon Peabody LLP
50 Jericho Quadrangle, Suite 300
Jericho, NY 11753

Career Services Committee

The Career Services Committee assists Hofstra Law by, among other things, engaging in outreach to fellow alumni for the purpose of identifying potential internship and postgraduate employment opportunities for Hofstra Law students and graduates, promoting alumni participation in Hofstra Law’s on-campus recruitment programs (OCI), identifying alumni who are willing to serve as professional mentors for current students, and participating in career- and professional-development-related programming run by Hofstra Law.

Andrew L. Oringer ’84, Co-Chair
Partner and Co-Chair,
ERISA & Executive Compensation Group
Dechert LLP
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10036
JoAnna R. Nicholson ’08, Co-Chair
Associate, Nixon Peabody LLP
50 Jericho Quadrangle, Suite 300
Jericho, NY 11753
Daniel P. Vaillant ’08, Co-Chair
Associate, Meyer, Suozzi, English & Klein, P.C.
990 Stewart Avenue, Suite 300
Garden City, New York 11530

Development Committee

The Development Committee assists Hofstra Law’s Office of External Relations with alumni programs and fundraising initiatives. The committee consists of alumni class agents, who serve as ambassadors of Hofstra Law, contacting classmates to build a stronger alumni community and encourage gifts to the Annual Fund.

Richard Fuhrman ’77Co-Chair
Insurance Broker,
Forest Hills Financial Group
200 Broadhollow Road, Suite 405
Melville, NY 11747
Seth A. Presser ’07, Co-Chair
Associate General Counsel, Bulova
350 Fifth Avenue, 29th Floor
New York, NY 10118

Diversity Committee

The Diversity Committee was formed to further Hofstra Law’s efforts to maintain a diverse student body, faculty and administration. The committee supports Hofstra Law’s efforts to identify and recruit students from diverse ethnic, cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds; provide support to minority students and organizations through participation in their programs and events, as well as serve as mentors and advisors; assist in engaging alumni from diverse backgrounds and help to develop ways of encouraging their participation in alumni activities; and help to build financial support for Hofstra Law’s diversity scholarships and overall fundraising efforts.

Anand Sinha '13, Co-Chair
Vice President, Sponsorship
South Asian Bar Association of New York

For more information on becoming involved in the Alumni Association and its committees, please contact the Office of Alumni Relations at lawalum@hofstra.edu or 516-463-2586.