Each year the Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University selects up to three fellows from among students admitted to the entering J.D. class. Fellowships are awarded to students who have demonstrated a commitment to, and intend to pursue, careers advocating on behalf of the LGBT community. Scholarship awards include a substantial tuition fellowship each year over three years of law school and up to two $7,500 summer stipends to support two summer externships related to LGBT advocacy.

Fellowships are awarded for one year but are renewable annually, subject to the guidelines of the Merit Scholarship Program for Incoming Students.